Windows 7 – A novice review


Yesterday Microsoft launched its much awaited operating system Windows 7. As Vista failed to repeat the success story of XP, techies around the globe were eagerly waiting for this release.

I downloaded and installed Windows 7 Enterprise 90-day trial on the very first day of its launch. Installation was fun and it hardly took 30 minutes to complete. It detected all my hardware during the installation and installed all the drivers automatically.

After using it for few hours, I felt that Windows 7 is a wonderful operating system and is far better than Windows Vista in every aspect. After the installation, I was amazed to see that it occupied less than 7 Gb space on hard-disk and memory consumption was about 500 Mb. I was using Windows Vista Home Premium for the last 14 months on my notebook computer with 2 Gb RAM. Last month when one of my 1 Gb RAM module encountered a hardware problem, I switched to Windows XP as Vista was not at all performing well with 1 Gb memory. But Windows 7 is running flawlessly on my machine with 1 Gb of RAM and Intel Core 2 Duo CPU.

Unlike Vista, Windows 7 doesn’t ask for permissions again and again in name of security. Windows Media Player 12 and Internet Explorer 8 were already there, and I was able to play most of the audio-video formats without installing any additional codec. I am overwhelmed with the beauty and performance of Windows 7 and will scribble an expert review very soon.

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jajati Keshari Udaysingh said,

    Thanks for the review, Vishal.
    Windows 7: new hope for Vista victims.

  2. 2

    Ouchitya said,

    hey vishal,
    m using the win 7 since sept….it is working fine….i mean its is better than vista and even xp…security is gr8…and every thing is good…before it i was usin OS X on my mac book…bt i liked win 7….its really gr8 yaar…
    enjoy it…and if u encounter any problem jst tell me…i am the expert of this version….gud luck nd hav a nice time with 7..
    regards,
    Ouchitya karan

  3. 3

    DJ said,

    Yeah.. even I love Windows 7…….

  4. 4

    Vishal said,

    After installing Windows 7, touchpad’s scroll function was not working in my laptop. I tried installing the touchpad’s Vista driver and luckily it is working. 🙂

  5. 5

    AVINASH KUMAR SHARMA said,

    Well these information would certainly help me out when i have a choice between WINDOWS 7 WIN VISTA…..

    The primary feature of this OS is it’s cool built-in touch-screen features.
    So can you have any stuff on this which make WIN 7 a unique OS.

    🙂

  6. 6

    AVINASH KUMAR SHARMA said,

    *******************************
    Microsoft has stripped Windows 7 of some important accessory programs Believe it or not, software for managing photos, editing videos, reading PDF documents, maintaining a calendar, managing addresses, chatting online or writing e-mail doesn’t come with Windows 7…. Instead, you’re supposed to download these free apps yourself from a Microsoft Web site.

    so what abt dat??????

    🙂
    *******************************

    • 7

      Vishal said,

      Yep… Four applications bundled with Windows Vista — Windows Photo Gallery, Windows Movie Maker, Windows Calendar and Windows Mail — are not included with Windows 7, but are instead available for free in a separate package called Windows Live Essentials.

  7. 8

    Rahul said,

    Hi Vishal..
    While installing Windows 7.. did U performed a clean installation or did a upgrade of Vista to Windows 7. Coz iI have Vista installed, and want to shift to Windows 7, but I do not want to do a clean installation, so wanted to know from U about the Vista to Windows 7 upgrade feature. If U did that, did U found any data loss?

    • 9

      Vishal said,

      Well, before Windows 7, I was using Windows XP and Mandriva. I merged all my hard-disk partitions (except the data partition) and performed a clean installation. If you try upgrading Vista, then please share your experience…

      Regards,

      Vishal

  8. 10

    Hey VishMak!!

    nice information friend. Though i have no plans right now to shift away from my 64-bit vista premium but i feel i have updated my knowledge of windows 7 after reading this knowledgeable post.
    Such meaningful stuff is always expected from you.

    Thanks and keep it up!!

  9. 11

    noactive said,

    Windows 7 – A novice review .Thanks for nice post.I added to my twitter.

  10. 12

    wedding insurance said,

    It is the moset commonly made mistake you definitely want to avoid.
    So colors in the flowers, the dress, accessorries
    etc. As you can see there are a few facrors that you might like tto
    consider when you are looking for the right Wedding photography Lincolnshire; if you would still like some oore information then this can be found by entering
    the kkeywords ‘Wedding photography Lincolnshire’ into an internet search engine.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment